25
Jul
09

Life, sans tech

About four months back I decided I would start an experiment. I grew up in technology. When I was a wee tot, Mom used to punish me by revoking computer access. As such, I had become very reliant on gizmos like my home computer and cellphone to run my life.

So, I wanted to see what it would be like to go back. I gave up my cell phone and laptop, and tried living without them. What I learned very quickly is that it is impossible for someone my age and in my culture to go without a laptop. In particular, I found missing Facebook and email made it nearly impossible to organize with my friends. I gave in and reintroduced the laptop after I realized how much time I was spending in the public library. That took a week.

Phone however, I have gone a solid four months without. I have now learned that we use phones for a very limited couple of purposes.

  • To change plans
  • To meet up dynamically
  • As a medium to gain trust
  • For crises

I also learned that people can get very upset at you for not having a phone, mostly because my generation doesn’t believe in static plans. We don’t say “I will meet you at this corner at this hour”, we say “lets do something this evening–how’s around 8?”. We like to maintain flexibility, I think, not because of indecisiveness, but so our lives are efficient. Why waste those five minutes waiting around for someone, when I could be walking towards where they are?

As an update, I will soon be getting a phone. This is because I’m meeting new people, and they don’t trust you if you say you don’t have a phone, and that they should email you instead.

3 Responses to “Life, sans tech”


  1. 1 Neal Yonson
    July 25, 2009 at 9:02 am

    Haha! Why would they not trust you? Do they think you are harvesting emails to spam them in the most inefficient way possible?

    And on the uses of phones… some people just like to use it to be able to talk to other people!!

  2. 2 radicalbeer
    July 25, 2009 at 9:09 am

    You’d be surprised how little phone talk is used in my life. The only person who wants (nay, demands) it from me is my Mom, and that’s because she’s technophobic.

    Business relationships are established over the phone. When you first ask someone out, you get their phone number. It’s definitely the most trustworthy medium if you can’t meet in person. 😀

  3. 3 radicalbeer
    July 26, 2009 at 3:17 am

    So… nothing at all I’ve been saying has gotten through. GRAAAAAAAAAAA! You need a phone. I hereby demand it!


Leave a Reply

Voter Funded Media

Blogathon Button
July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

RSS RBT Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License, except for the exclusive commercial use of participating in the Voter Funded Media competition.

