20
Nov
09

drunk driving, Parliament, and LexisNexis: a morning mostly wasted

I was reading Geoff Costelloe’s blog, Geoff’s Place, mostly for Senate synopses (which you should all read), but I came across a post from earlier this summer that piqued my interest.  I was going to comment on it, but then (because I have been writing papers all night) I decided to have a little fun with LexisNexis, Al Franken style. As an aside, I know I sound like the biggest nerd in the world for combining ‘fun’ and ‘LexisNexis’ into the same activity. This pretty much sums that up:

Giles: “I’ll have you know that I have very, um, many relaxing hobbies.”
Buffy: “Such as?”
Giles: “Well, um…I enjoy cross-referencing.”

The charges leveled are as follows:

Can you imagine working for a company that has a little more than 300 Employees and has the following statistics?

  • 30 have been accused of spousal abuse.
  • 9 have been arrested for fraud.
  • 14 have been accused of writing bad cheques.
  • 95 have directly or indirectly bankrupted at least 2 businesses.
  • 4 have done time for assault.
  • 55 cannot get a credit card due to bad credit.
  • 12 have been arrested on drug related charges.
  • 4 have been arrested for shoplifting.
  • 16 are currently defendants in lawsuits.
  • 62 have been arrested for drunk driving in the last year!

Can you guess which organization this is?

iggy

It is the 301 MP’s in the Canadian Parliament.

The same group that cranks out hundreds of new laws designed to keep the rest of us in line!

Which one did you vote for?

TAKEN FROM THE OTTAWA CITIZEN

I would bet money that this is almost certainly false. I ran a LexisNexis search (my God, I love LexisNexis) for terms associated with this, and the only thing that came up was a reference in an Ohio newspaper that said it was taken from a newsletter on Pelee Island, ON, which itself said that it had been reprinted from the Ottawa Citizen. There is no record of it actually in the Ottawa Citizen from any period during the time when we had 301 MPs (1997-2004).

A couple of the points say ‘accused’, which is an easy way of getting out of anything. Dalton McGuinty was ‘accused’ of being “an evil reptilian kitten eater from another planet” by Ernie Eves’ campaign. Barack Obama was ‘accused’ of being a Secret Muslim Communist Fascist Black Nationalist Kenyan, and he is merely some of these things.

The phrase ‘indirectly bankrupted’ is unverifiable as well, and if they include their actions as MPs in that mix, it is almost certainly a low-ball estimate.

On a more esoteric level, being a reader of Canadian news obsessively, it seems like the media would have a fit if 62 MPs were arrested for drunk driving in the last year. They had a fit when one former MP (Rahim Jaffer) was arrested for drunk driving, and it made the news when Peter Mackay got his driver’s license suspended for speeding. In the last BC election, the speeding tickets of the Solicitor General got him kicked out of Cabinet, and the DUIs of sacrificial lamb candidates came to light. And who can forget this.

A search for “MP AND drunk driving AND arrested” for the entire period yielded only 52 results on Nexis, many of which were year in review articles that just happened to contain all the words. The actual crimes I found were:

  1. Svend Robinson and the Ring
  2. Quebec’s highest Judge stepping down over DUI charges
  3. Gordon Campbell’s DUI
  4. Rejean Lefebvre, Bloc MP, DUI

There was also an article titled “Politics and drinking; B.C. premier latest in long list of elected alcohol abusers” in the Hamilton Spectator on Jan 14, 2003, which covered some past cases, but they were nowhere near the levels suggested.

The numbers seem off to me. If only 16 MPs were being sued at any given time, I’d be VERY surprised. Lawsuits just happen – traffic accidents, people slipping in walkways, being involved peripherally in a business that has raised the ire of someone, or just being the legal lightening rod that is inherent in being a public figure.

Also, with a (then) $66,900 a year income, and further expense budgets of $34,100, I’d find it pretty hard to believe that one in six MPs would have been denied a credit card.

Finally, the similarities to an exemplar hoax on the BBC E-Hoaxes article, in which the exact same charges are leveled against members of the US Congress, makes me certain that this is fake.

44 Responses to “drunk driving, Parliament, and LexisNexis: a morning mostly wasted”


  1. February 8, 2010 at 3:32 am

    This story is now doing the rounds with the punch line “It’s the 635 members of the House of Commons, the same group that cranks out hundreds of new laws each year designed to keep the rest of us in line.”

    Very amusing – in the UK we are inclined to believe it as 3 of them were very publicly charged with fraud yesterday…. doing a spot of research to validate the claim (I don’t have access to LexisNexis) & I find this blog.

    Another urban myth, one I enjoyed for 5 minutes – thanks for helping to debunk

    Andy

  2. 2 Sharon Balloch
    March 4, 2010 at 10:21 am

    THANKS FOR THE WRITE UP.. SAVES ME A WHOLE LOT OF SEARCHING AS I THOUGHT IT SOUNDED WAY TO OVER THE TOP FOR EVEN US CANADIANS TO PUT UP WITH.. THANKS AGAIN,

  3. April 9, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Today, while I was at work, my sister stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can
    survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely
    off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  4. May 9, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing
    the layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what
    youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of
    content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot
    of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space
    it out better?

  5. May 19, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    Heya excellent website! Does running a blog similar to this take a large
    amount of work? I’ve very little understanding of programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic however I just had to ask. Appreciate it!

  6. June 18, 2013 at 9:33 am

    After I initially commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now
    on whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment.
    Is there a way you are able to remove me from that service?

    Kudos!

  7. July 24, 2013 at 11:53 am

    ITIL is absolutely becoming much more important in today’s IT businesses around the world. I know that, in my encounter, it does not constantly go 100 % to plan – yet thats the factor why Itil is only a framework I guess.

  8. October 7, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Hello everyone, it’s my first visit at this site, and post is really fruitful in favor of me,
    keep up posting these types of posts.

  9. January 25, 2014 at 10:57 am

    This amazing blog post, “drunk driving, Parliament, and LexisNexis: a morning mostly
    wasted | The Radical Beer Tribune” displays the fact that you comprehend everything that you’re communicating
    about! I personally fully agree. Thanks a lot -Margaret

  10. April 13, 2014 at 9:31 am

    Hi there, I log on to your blogs on a regular basis. Your story-telling style is
    awesome, keep up the good work!

  11. April 15, 2014 at 6:12 am

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your web site.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have
    any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  12. April 20, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your website?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way
    of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1
    or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  13. May 15, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been doing a little research
    on this. And he actually bought me dinner simply because I stumbled upon it for him…
    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this matter here on your
    blog.

  14. June 17, 2014 at 10:01 am

    Even though search engine optimization has been here for more than ten years,
    but keyword research services, be them Google keywords research services or for
    any other search engines, go back even further. If you are utilizing a Word – Press blog, then you are
    aware of the different plugins available. Google offers a free service called Google Webmasters that is available to anyone with a free Google account.

  15. June 17, 2014 at 10:03 am

    Google has been working hard to give the user more chart options, as well as
    better looking charts. People have different views, but you can never know who to trust.
    Perhaps it’s better not be using these social networks, they
    say they keep people connected, but only in a virtual world, it probably prevents a lot of people from going outside and really connecting.

  16. June 17, 2014 at 10:04 am

    If there are more than 3 that are all around the same number of searches then you have a decision to
    make. People have different views, but you can never know who to trust.
    When the cursor is placed over them, Google+ displays page header and profile picture, so good reason to have the most eye-catching of pictures, which also looks good in ‘pop-up’.

  17. June 23, 2014 at 12:51 am

    You wont find Adiphene in your native pharmacy or some huge store like
    Walmart or Walgreens. Adiphene the new weight loss formula is
    now available with the power of 11 different fat burners to boost weight loss.
    Glucomannan is among the most active hunger suppressants in Adiphene, and it works
    to suppress yearnings and help you handle your parts.

  18. June 24, 2014 at 3:28 am

    If you have been feeling tired and rundown lately, and seem to be gaining weight for no apparent reason, then it is time for a change.
    Perhaps the main reason behind this though is that you have developed a dependence on food.
    Different studies have demonstrated the profits of Ginseng Panax Root Extract.

  19. August 18, 2014 at 3:02 am

    This is the perfect webpage for anyone who wants to find out about this topic.

    You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will
    need to…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject
    that’s been written about for ages. Great stuff, just great!

  20. September 5, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    My brother recommended I may like this website.
    He used to be totally right. This publish truly made my day.
    You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for
    this info! Thank you!

  21. September 5, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog the usage of msn. This is a very
    well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it
    and come back to read more of your useful info. Thank you
    for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  22. September 25, 2015 at 12:05 am

    Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more
    of your useful information. Thank you for the post.

    I’ll certainly return.


Leave a Reply

Voter Funded Media

Blogathon Button
November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS RBT Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License, except for the exclusive commercial use of participating in the Voter Funded Media competition.

