10
Dec
09

don’t get so comfy…

Some Verse on the Topic of my Prospective Resignation

On Monday night, morose, I cried,
For a Society robbed of its pride,

No legal process was to bring,
Relief from our self claimed king

I thought we had no right to claim
A mandate after this con game

So as I drowned my tears in wine
I thought to myself “I must resign”

But when I told the same to friends
I noticed some disturbing trends

My idea to fly the coop
And escape from our tyrant’s boot

Was nigh on universally panned
So, I assure you I will stand

To serve my term to its completion
And to those who’d relish my deletion

From the Council rolls, I’ll say
That we’ll live to fight another day

With fury stoked by actions crass
My opposition will surpass

All that it has ever been before
(Since we could not show you the door)

And if you thought the battle’s won
Don’t get so comfy – it’s just begun

A new day has dawned, the sun is bright
And I am gearing up to fight

I won’t see our AMS defamed
By both of  ‘those-who-shall-not-be-named’

They’ve sneaked around, behind our backs
And sent forth biased, specious attacks

So while things are bad, I will serve on
The night is darkest before the dawn

I have faith that AMS pride,
Can be restored and justified

This term I’ll fight until I fall!
Vive le Resistance! And thank you all.

Don’t get me wrong. The AMS is very sick. It is in need of more structural reform than I could have imagined. The people who are elected to serve it are actively working to undermine the will of the students it represents. They are being deceitful, disingenuous, disorganized, disrespectful and all in all, the very worst type of student politicians. I do not, at this point, particularly enjoy being around the AMS, especially those people responsible for shattering the Society’s democratic safeguards.

I would never have thought that the politics at UBC would degenerate to CFS type levels, either in terms of the quality of the discourse, or the calibre of its leadership. I am astounded at the degree to which the AMS, through it’s leaders, has betrayed the public trust of its members.

I do feel (and I realize how jack-assish this sounds, typing it) that I let the people who voted for me down – I think that the continued service of Blake and Tim is a threat to the legitimacy of the AMS, and that people are right to be angry that Councilors didn’t have their facts straight at the beginning of the process. We could and should have done other things to remove them, and I regret thinking that the conflicts between our Bylaws and the Societies Act could be dusted away.

That aside, I’m satisfied with my service at the AMS. I’ve always tried to do what I thought was right for students, and I feel that I’ve been able to accomplish what I’ve set of to do – I don’t claim singular credit for any of these things, but I am happy to have been a part of many projects at the AMS, Committee Reform chief among them. I feel that I could leave today and be happy.

But I won’t.

Much as I would like to take the easy way out of this, and simply stop, drop, and roll down the sides of the SUB, I’m not going to let a society that, without sounding sappy, I care about quite a bit, be covered in the toxic spew that has been issuing forth from the northeast office in the SUB. I was elected to do a job, and I’m not done with it yet – you don’t get to win on a technicality and walk away with next to no consequences, or treat the most massive outpouring of student opinion in my time at UBC as frivolous or unrepresentative.

To those of you who reminded me of that responsibility, and have asked me to stay on over the next months, I thank you. Your support has been amazing, and it, combined with continued abuse and disrespect of the AMS and its bodies by those-who-shall-not-be-named have whipped me up into a legislative furor.

While I can’t imagine running for another executive position (well, I can imagine it, but it requires a certain level of inebriation), I’d rather graduate and move on (not that I know what I’m doing afterward). I will, however, be serving out the rest of my term. I’ll be serving on the Legislative Procedures Committee, so expect to see some suggestions on how to:

  • Increase Council Oversight and Democratic Checks on the Executive
  • Establish ways by which AMS Councilors can be accountable to their Constituency Council
  • Create recommendations to the Province for a separate Student Societies Act

I’m not backing down from what I believe, and I promise you that I will fight tooth and nail to deliver for you. This society needs some strong medicine; the fact that those-who-shall-not-be-named have no idea what they did wrong is infuriating.

I’ll be taking some time off from AMS stuff for the break, but I’ll be back in January, mark my words. I look forward to the coming election.

2 Responses to “don’t get so comfy…”


  1. 1 taylorloren
    December 10, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. 2 Ashley
    December 10, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Thank god. Don’t ever scare me like that again, Matt.

    I’m not just saying this because I’m a Naylorite Costeloeite anti-Durgan tuition-loving neoliberal, but I think you are an excellent councillor. You know the AMS and you (clearly) care deeply about it for the AMS’ sake, and not for your own, and that’s what’s necessary. ❤


Leave a Reply

Voter Funded Media

Blogathon Button
December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

RSS RBT Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License, except for the exclusive commercial use of participating in the Voter Funded Media competition.

