23
Mar
10

AUS Elections…not over yet?

This just came into my inbox…I have no time to analyze it now…but speculate away!

To whom it may concern:

I would like to formally announce my complaint against the results of the 2010 Arts Undergraduate Society Presidential elections.  I believe that the votes from the online portion of the ballots were not accurately reported and as a result lead to a miscalculation in the combined paper and online total which may have lead to a different candidate being chosen.  I have obtained a copy of the online voting results directly from the UBC registrar and an eight-vote margin exists between Brian Platt, the winning candidate and myself. In the approved document from the Academic Governance Officer Christopher Eaton, it states that I received 170 votes while Brian Platt received 178 votes, reiterating the 8 vote margin.  In my discussions with elections scrutineers after the results had been released, Iggy Rodruigez and Nathan Tippe both told me a 10 vote margin existed between myself and Brian Platt when they counted the paper ballots, which they re-counted several times. According to their results Brian had 24 votes and I had 34 votes from the paper ballots.  The totals therefore indicate that I had 204 votes whereas Brian had only 202 which leads to a potential discrepancy in the existing elections count. It is my belief that there has been a misreporting in the online voting portion of the AUS election votes which has lead to the incorrect candidate winning the election. I would to see this matter thoroughly investigated potentially with a third party recounting the ballots to ensure legitimacy. I have every faith that the elections administration will ensure that proper candidate is rightfully elected.

Regards,

Ryan Trasolini

3 Responses to “AUS Elections…not over yet?”


  1. 1 Mike Choi
    March 23, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    OHHHH SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIT

  2. March 23, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Hearsay. In addition, this is hearsay from two science students, if I’m not mistaken. Would students not in Arts scrutineer Arts’ ballots? Oh, the humanity!

  3. 3 Omid
    March 23, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Margin of error anyone?


Leave a Reply

Voter Funded Media

Blogathon Button
March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

RSS RBT Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License, except for the exclusive commercial use of participating in the Voter Funded Media competition.

