Archive for January 6th, 2010

06
Jan
10

announcing a joke candidate!

An interesting thing was sighted upstairs in the halls of Buchanan. Timkachu was sighted upstairs collecting the signatures for his reelection campaign.

The funniest joke candidates are the ones that don’t know they are joke candidates. I know that Tim ran an effective campaign last year, but I credit that not so much to any particular endorsement by the populace of his policies, but an amazingly coordinated campaign by one Rory Green. If Rory isn’t running his campaign this year, I expect to see a suspiciously Tim shaped splatter-mark on the electoral pavement of the Society. If she is, he’ll still lose, but just by not as much.

I was talking to someone about the office of the VP External the other day, and how it’s been treated this year. I really felt strongly about the office – I still do. I nurtured and tended the office during my term, like a little plant. A fern. And while I don’t think that Stef wasn’t really the best gardener, she didn’t destroy the poor little organism. Tim has, in my opinion, taken a giant jug of ammonia and poured it over the fronds. Or Draino. I, in all honesty, have difficulty thinking of ways that he could have been a worse executive. The plant is dead.

I will save my vitriol and scorn for the election. I actually like the fact that he’s running. His repudiation will be sweet.

06
Jan
10

the show that never ends

AMS Politics. It’s vicious. About as vicious as Sayre’s Law lets politics be. It is dominated by personality and relationships. It matters, if only because things can get pretty embarrassing to students when things go off the deep end. We’ll be choosing a new executive, a new direction, and washing off the crap of the past couple of months. It’s a chance for renewal.

The Tribune will be covering the debates with our ever popular liveblogs. We might even have editorial cartoons. Naturally there are going to be NayloRants. Excitingly, I’m planning a couple of things with regards to the brand new voting statistics that the iClickers have been amassing over the last year or so – which is great, as there hasn’t really been very much publication of the voting stats hereto-far. There are going to be candidate profiles, and even an analysis of the joke candidates. POEMS! Bingo. Other such jazz.

What else do people want to see from the RBT?




Voter Funded Media

Blogathon Button
January 2010
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS RBT Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.5 Canada License, except for the exclusive commercial use of participating in the Voter Funded Media competition.